Review: Maybelline Dream Pure BB Cream

048

Today I have another great new Maybelline product to show you. As you all probably know, Maybelline released their first BB cream last year, the Dream Fresh one. And I absolutely hated it. Even the lightest shade was a muddy orange on me, and it was unspeakably greasy no matter how much powder I used. It just was not suited to my pale, oily skin at all, but this summer Maybelline released a new BB cream that is formulated specifically for oily, acne-prone skin. I stalked my local drugstores for months before I finally found it, and I’m so glad I did, because this product is a winner. Unlike the original Dream Fresh one, the Dream Pure BB cream actually contains skin-improving salicylic acid, an acne-fighting medication, and although the shade names are the same for both BB creams, this one is much lighter than its predecessor. It actually matches me!

087

According to Maybelline, this BB cream fight blemishes with 2% salicylic acid, hydrates and soothes, reduces redness, shrinks pores, and feels lightweight. In my opinion, all those claims are true. To start off, I am in the shade Light (no surprises there) and I like that it is much paler and less pinky-peach than the original one. It looks orange against my skin at first, but it blends in like a dream ( see what I did there) and sheers out to match my skintone. I love that it moisturizes and fights blemishes and evens my skin all in one, so that I don’t have to layer multiple products. The coverage of this BB cream is also better than the previous one, and it is much longer-lasting.  The finish of the first one was extremely shiny, but this one dries to a satin-matte finish and controls shine all day. Look how natural and smooth and glowy-but-still-matte it makes my skin!

002

003

It actually does what it claims to do instead of just being glorified tinted moisturizer–it does reduce the amount of acne I get and it definitely soothes my skin, and I’ve noticed that when I wear this, any blemishes I do have clear up much faster. I have used this under foundation and by itself with no problem, but my favorite way to use it is over my Too Faced Primed and Poreless Pure Primer for poreless, matte skin that lasts all day.  I even like this better than my Pond’s BB cream because the Dream Pure one is more suited to my skin type. Being able to find an acne-fighting BB cream at the drugstore is a huge plus for me, and I am so glad Maybelline is trying to address the skincare needs of all their customers. Love!

12 thoughts on “Review: Maybelline Dream Pure BB Cream”

  1. How odd! This has been on the market in Finland for at least a year already, give or take! 😮 I also liked this BB cream when I tried it last year, buuuut I think I’ll still stick to my minerals for the most part 🙂 Also there wasn’t a much of a color difference here between the “normal” version and this (in the Light shade) – another odd thing 😮

    Like

    1. I believe this has been available in Europe since early last year, and I have heard other bloggers mention the color differences between what we get in the US and what is sold overseas…that is odd I agree! As always, thank you for reading! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

