Review: Forever 21 Smoky Palette

It’s basically no secret at this point that I love Forever 21’s makeup. A few years ago, I would never have considered buying beauty products from a mass retailer of inexpensive clothes, but now I laugh at how wrong I was to assume their makeup wouldn’t be any good. Some of my very favorite products are from their Love and Beauty line and their Premium Beauty line, such as…this lovely eyeshadow palette!

081

I think this cost around $7, which is a total steal for ten eyeshadows. I wanted a palette that I could use for both day and night looks, for subtle smoky eyes and dramatic cut creases, and this is perfect! It has a great combination of dark smoky shades and more taupe-y, neutral shades that could be used for a variety of looks. Now, this isn’t the most pigmented set of eyeshadows out there, but I personally like that. When I’m doing a smoky eye, it is so easy to go overboard on the black eyeshadow and end up with raccoon eyes, but with this, I have complete control over how intense I want the look to be. Impressively, I haven’t experienced any fallout from these shadows, and they are very blendable and user-friendly. Just to compare to something I imagine many of you ladies are trying out, the Forever 21 Smoky palette is a lot more pigmented than the new Maybelline The Nudes palette, for example.

I realize the background of this picture is really messy, but the eyeshadows are all true-to-color here.
I realize the background of this picture is really messy, but the eyeshadows are all true-to-color here.

You get a good range of colors here; there is a dark satin black, a sparkly charcoal, a matte gray, a cool toned brown, a satin taupe, a buttery pale gold, a sparkly silver-taupe, a satin rose gold, a sparkly pearl, and a matte white.

107

108

All the shades have decent pigmentation, except for the matte white on the far right, which you actually can’t see at all in these swatch pictures because my skin is the same color as the eyeshadow…hmm. I find that these last a long time even without primer, and this palette is similar to Urban Decay’s Naked 2 set, except a lot more affordable. I’m not saying it’s an exact dupe, but I think of it as an affordable alternative. This palette also comes in “Natural,” which features more brown and copper shades, and it looks like an affordable dupe for the Naked 3 palette. 😉

These eyeshadows look and feel far more expensive than they are, and I love having them as an alternative to Urban Decay’s palettes.  The colors aren’t just your basic smoky grays; there are many pretty shades here that perform just as well as several high-end palettes I have. Just to put this into perspective, if you bought both Forever 21’s Smoky palette and the Natural palette, you’d be spending about $16 for twenty eyeshadows, whereas even Urban Decay’s Naked Basics set (which only has six shadows) costs $28. Not saying anything against Urban Decay, but I’d take my Forever 21 Smoky palette over that any day.

Using colors from the Smoky palette on my eyes. And no, I don't usually pair smoky eyes with purple lips, but I was testing out that Nyx Violet lipstick that day!
Using colors from the Smoky palette on my eyes. And no, I don’t usually pair smoky eyes with purple lips, but I was testing out that Nyx Violet lipstick that day!
11 thoughts on “Review: Forever 21 Smoky Palette”

Leave a Reply

