Review: Kat Von D Studded Kiss lipsticks in Archangel, Countess, Hexagram, and Vampira

L-R: Archangel, Countess, Hexagram, Vampira
L-R: Archangel, Countess, Hexagram, Vampira

Today I have four of the new Kat Von D Studded Kiss lipsticks to share with you ladies, and boy am I excited. I love Kat Von D’s makeup, and when I found out she was releasing a new line of lipsticks, I was thrilled. I got four of the matte shades: Archangel, Countess, Hexagram, and Vampira. I love these lipsticks even more than I thought I would.

019

The packaging is so cute, but also edgy–I love the studded cases with their embossed Kat Von D logo. And the lipsticks themselves smell delicious, like caramel and vanilla. They seriously smell like a candy bar, people.

041

L-R: Hexagram, Countess, Vampira, Archangel
L-R: Hexagram, Countess, Vampira, Archangel

I have heard many bloggers complain that these don’t go on well, and that they’re dry and drag on the lips, but I have to totally disagree with them. Especially considering that they’re matte lipsticks, I thought they went on feeling very soft and creamy, and I don’t find them drying at all.  I mean no disrespect, but I do think many women don’t know how to apply a matte lipstick. You DO have to exfoliate your lips and put a balm underneath, or your lipstick probably will seem dry and patchy. To me, these feel so soft going on, and the colors are rich and opaque with one swipe.  They are mattes, but they aren’t dry and flat like, say, MAC’s Ruby Woo is. Kat Von D’s Studded Kiss lipsticks are, in my opinion, the perfect matte formula.

Now, let’s talk about the colors themselves. First up is Archangel. It is a beautiful burnt red, almost brick red but with a warmer undertone. I love the color and feel of this one.

002   004

Archangel
Archangel

Next is Countess. It is the brightest of the ones I got, and it looks quite similar to the Kat Von D Everlasting liquid lipstick in A Go-Go, except with more red in it. It’s like a fiery coral red, and is almost neon it’s so bright. My camera did not pick up how bright it is!

011   013

Countess
Countess

This is Hexagram. I got it because I love deeper reds, and this is a great blue-based dark red for cooler skin tones. It is called a blood-red on the Sephora site, but I’m not sure that’s the best description, although regardless it is a lovely color.

018   020

Hexagram
Hexagram

Lastly, here is Vampira. I have been wanting the liquid version of this color for months, but it’s always sold out, so I was glad to finally get to try this color. It is a very dark oxblood type shade, a reddish burgundy. I love shades like this because they have a good balance of red and purple, and are great for fall.

028   029

Vampira
Vampira

I am in love with these Studded Kiss lipsticks. I think the colors are unique and beautiful, and I love the creamy feel and longevity of the lipsticks. My two favorites are Archangel and Countess, but I like all of them. I appreciate that Kat Von D included so many colors in this line–there are the traditional reds and pinks, but also a navy blue, a black, and pale lavender, for example. Although I got only matte finishes, there are also metallic and satin finishes in this line, so there is an option for everyone. They cost $21, but they’re worth it.

 

14 thoughts on “Review: Kat Von D Studded Kiss lipsticks in Archangel, Countess, Hexagram, and Vampira”

  1. Those look so gorgeous! I’m not a fan of overly matte lipstick but that formula seems to be so nice and velvety! Especially the Vampira Countess and Hexagram are such pretty shades ♥

    Like

    1. Vampira is pretty dark; it could be built up to be even darker. I think fair skinned girls look great with a darker lip! Have you tried Wet n Wild’s Vamp It Up lipstick? It is an ultra-dark, blackened purple, great shade for fall. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

