Halloween Series: Vampire Makeup Tutorial

048

Boo! Halloween is one of my favorite times of the year, so to celebrate, I thought I would do a series of Halloween makeup looks. The first one is today’s Vampire look, which is easy to create but looks creepy and glamorous at the same time. If you want to see how I got this look, then keep on reading!

What I used–and they’re all just regular makeup items you might already have:

059

1.To make my skin super-pale, I mixed white face paint (you can find it in the Halloween section of any store) and a foundation together, then applied it on my face and down my neck with a brush.

2.  To get supernaturally flawless but still very pale skin, I then applied a powder foundation over the base. I used Meow Cosmetic’s Flawless Feline foundation in Inquisitive Abyssinian. I set all of that with Coty Airspun powder.

3. To give my skin deathly dimension, I used a grayish taupe color to contour my cheeks, down my nose, and around the perimeter of my face. To make my cheeks look sunken in, I blended the contour line down towards my mouth. The color I used was actually the second eyeshadow on the right in my Nyx Sex Bomb palette. Then, to highlight, I applied the pale cream color from the same palette on my cheekbones, browbones, and chin.

4. Now comes the fun part–sickly smoky eyes! I used a reddish-brown eyeshadow, Covergirl’s Raisin, all over my lid and smudged it under my eyes, then I put a deeper, purple-brown shade in my crease to add depth; the one I used was Nyx’s Own The Night. I filled in and exaggerated the shape of my brows, then I lined my eyes with a felt tip liner and put on mascara to finish the eye look.

5. For my lips, I lined them and filled them in with a basic red lip liner, overdrawing them slightly to add emphasis. Next,  I used a dark red liquid lipstick, my Ellis Faas Creamy Lips in Blood Red. This lipstick really does look just like fresh blood, so I thought it would be perfect for a vampire look.

6. The finishing touches: Using a red lip liner, I drew two bite marks on my throat and smudged my Nyx eyeshadows in Own The Night and Bad Seed (a matte red) around the marks to make them look more realistic. Then, using the same liquid lipstick as above, I squirted a line of it down my lips, let that dry, and then topped it off with more to create a congealed blood effect.

022

7. As you know, I have short hair, but the traditional vampires usually have long dark hair, so I used a wig to give the look an extra-spooky touch. I just got one of those cheap costume wigs at Wal-Mart. 😉

What do you think? Suitably scary?

030

015

If you like this series, I also have a Cleopatra look, a pin-up look, and a pop-art look coming up, so stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Halloween Series: Vampire Makeup Tutorial”

Leave a Reply

