Review: New Skincare Products by Garnier, Neutrogena, and Simple

014

Hello my lovely readers! I know I have been away awhile, but between college and work, there’s just no time for me to blog! A darn shame…to make up for that, I have a triple review for you today, featuring brand new skincare products from the drugstore. I have the new Garnier Ultra-Lift Miracle Sleeping Cream, the new Neutrogena Hydro Boost Gel Cream for Extra Dry Skin, and the new Simple Micellar Cleansing Water. Two of these products I am obsessed with, and one was kind of a dud. We’ll talk about that one first and just get it out of the way!

017

Here’s the new Garnier cream. As is typical of Garnier, the product makes many wild claims and then doesn’t live up to them. I was pretty excited about this product because it claimed to hydrate, brighten, prevent wrinkles, exfoliate dead cells away, and repair skin with the power of a mask. Sound too good to be true? It was. I had such high hopes for this, and it just did not perform well.

018

The cream itself is rather thick, and is a pale pink color that makes me think it has some kind of dye in it.

When I first applied it, I was struck by how heavily perfumed it was. It has that sweet floral smell that most of Garnier’s products contain, and my skin just does not like skincare with fragrances in it. But I was willing to overlook that, if the cream worked. After all, who doesn’t want bright, rejuvenated skin? Alas, when I put it on, it didn’t feel very hydrating at all (perhaps due to the high alcohol content of the ingredients.) And the next morning when I woke up, my face was red, irritated, and very greasy. I continued to use it for a few nights, but my skin kept getting steadily more irritated, and finally on the fourth night, I woke up with four monster zits. Not cool, Garnier. Now, if your skin isn’t too sensitive or too dry, this might be fine for you. But for my dry and sensitive, acne-prone skin, this just did not work. Plus, it costs about $20. :/

Fortunately, these next two products more than make up for the Garnier mishap! I stumbled upon the new Simple Micellar Water at Publix, of all places, so of course I picked it up. I had never used a cleansing water before, so I wasn’t sure what to expect, For the sake of honesty, I will say that if you are wearing a full face of makeup—primer, concealer, foundation, powder,etc—then this isn’t going to cut it when it comes to removing makeup. I tried to get off a full coverage foundation with this, and while it removed about 60%, I still had to wash my face afterwards. But if you’re just wearing a sheer foundation, then you would probably be fine with this, or if you are makeup-free and just want to refresh your face. I have actually been using this as a toner, and my skin has been LOVING it. I wash my face as usual, then go over it with the Simple Micellar Water on a cotton pad. It. Is. So. Soothing! I love the way it feels going on. It’s totally unscented, which I like, and contains several hydrating ingredients as well as vitamin E and B. It gets rid of any makeup that my face wash didn’t get, it reduces redness, and it is perfect for removing eyeshadow and mascara. Total win in my book.

Lastly, I have the new star of my skincare regime—Neutrogena’s new Hydro Boost Gel-Cream for Extra Dry Skin. As soon as the weather gets cold, my skin goes from combo to super dry, and I have been hunting for a new face cream to combat the winter flakies. I am so glad I found this! It costs $17.99 at Wal-Mart, but I do think it’s worth the price.

019

It’s nice and lightweight, and has an emollient yet nonsticky texture.

020

It is dye and fragrance free, and contains high levels of hyaluronic acid to boost skin’s moisture levels by 1000%! It also says it leaves skin smooth, supple, and soft all day long. I love the way this cream makes my skin feel! As it says, this is a “gel-cream,” meaning that it’s very lightweight, one of my favorite things about it. When I put it on, it feels like a drink of water for my skin—ultra hydrating and completely non-irritating. It sinks into the skin immediately and dries to a matte finish within two minutes. That’s what surprised me about it—I was expecting it to stay shiny/slick, but it just sank right in and that was it. It’s matte but not mattifying; it’s the perfect amount of hydration for my parched skin and it’s an excellent base for makeup because it’s so smoothing. It almost acts like a straight-up primer. I can use it under my eyes with no irritation, and because my skin loves it so much, I’ve been using it day and night with great results.

After using both the Simple Micellar Water and the Neutrogena Hydro Boost Gel-Cream for two weeks, I can safely say that my skin has improved dramatically. It is hydrated and smooth, and the redness that’s usually present in my skin has lessened quite a bit. Also, my skin has been breaking out a lot less with this combination. These two products are really good quality for drugstore products! They get my stamp of approval. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Review: New Skincare Products by Garnier, Neutrogena, and Simple”

Leave a Reply

