Review: Too Faced Born This Way Foundation

I’m sure by now, all of you have at least heard of the new Too Faced Born This Way foundation. This is easily the most hyped-up foundation of the year, with claims that it gives full, yet undetectable coverage, while also hydrating and nourishing the skin with coconut water and alpine rose extract. Sound too good to be true, or do we have a winner? Let’s find out together!

s1711928-main-hero-300

I got this in the shade Ivory, which is the second lightest. It’s described as fair with neutral to golden undertones. Because I’m just a lowly history teacher, I didn’t buy a whole bottle of this due to the price. I just got a deluxe sample at Sephora, hence the stock photo. πŸ™‚ Here’s what it looks like swatched:

096

As you can see, it initially appeared rather yellow and rather dark, and I was afraid I wouldn’t like it. But, once I applied it to my face, I was pleasantly surprised. In terms of consistency, it’s thick like Revlon Colorstay, but unlike the Colorstay, it doesn’t feel heavy going on at all. It’s hydrating and feels quite smooth, and I applied one and a half layers without it looking cakey at all.Β  The claims of medium to full coverage are true. I hate it when so many foundations claim to provide full coverage but in reality you have to cake on layer after layer to cover up acne, rosacea, etc. Blissfully, this one did indeed make my skin look flawless enough that I skipped concealer. But did it look like skin? Did it look like I was “born that way?” In a word, yes. I was so impressed with the way the foundation blended down to a natural matte finish that really did look like skin. I also noticed that the rest of my makeup—contour, blush, and highlight—went on looking more smooth and more natural with this foundation as a base also. I set just my t-zone with powder and put the foundation through a rigorous test drive, painting my classroom, walking my dog in 100 degree heat, and cooking spaghetti over a hot stove, and it held up nicely. This foundation also seems to have some oil control properties in addition to providing hydration. I love the color of Ivory—you know how sometimes, a foundation just really warms your skin up and makes you look healthy? This one does a great job of that. See for yourself.

Here I am in natural light, indoors:

061

And here I am outside, in full sunlight:

081

See? Great coverage, great finish, healthy looking skin. I have to say, the hype for this foundation is justified. Also, because I’m in the second-lightest shade and y’all know I’m pretty fair, I have high hopes that anyone paler than I am can be assured of finding a match. The only gripe I have is that there aren’t enough darker shades for women of color, but Too Faced has listened to its customers and is producing (I believe) four darker shades and even two that are lighter than my shade and the shade before it.

I gotta say, I’m impressed. Definitely worth a try! PS. The lipstick is ColourPop’s Yasmin–isn’t it gorgeous?!

15 thoughts on “Review: Too Faced Born This Way Foundation”

      1. Awww! I know they are available online in the UK, but I couldn’t say about whether or not they have actual stores. I know the makeup subreddit always does makeup swaps for people in the UK who can’t find certain products that we have in the US, so maybe try that? Good luck!

        Like

      2. Yeah I can get it online but don’t think any shops have it (could be wrong) … I haven’t seen it anywhere 😦 I’m just wary about ordering foundations online and things like that as I don’t want to get the incorrect shade. Thanks hun! x

        Like

  1. This foundation looks so beautiful on you! I would have to agree that the hype is justified! I would love to try a sample of this from Sephora sometime.:) xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would probably describe it as nc15-20. My skintone is roughly nc15, and I can wear it, but it does oxidize somewhat. Also, it does have a very prominent yellow tone to it, so if your skin is more on the pink side of neutral I might skip. Do you have the LA Girl BB Cream in Fair? To me the colors are pretty comparable. What foundations do you currently use? Maybe I could judge better based on that. I imagine this would work on you, but I always say try a sample first! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

